## NOTICE OF 2024 ELECTION CANCELLATION and Certification of Results WHITE CITY WATER IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT

999 East Galena Drive, Sandy, UT 84094

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN pursuant to Utah Code §§ 17B-11-306 and 20A-1-206 that the election for three members of the Board of Trustees for the White City Water Improvement District ("WCWID"), scheduled for November 5, 2024, has been cancelled pursuant to on WCWID Resolution 2024-09-001, a copy of which may be viewed at www.wcwid.utah.gov

Only three qualified residents timely filed declarations of candidacy for the three Trustee positions subject to the election and no other residents timely filed declarations to run as write-in candidates for the positions. Since no other contested proposal exists requiring an election, and in order to save funds budgeted for an election, the Board of Trustees determined, pursuant to Utah Code, to cancel the election <u>and to declare and certified the three unopposed candidates for the three open positions on the Board of Trustees, Paulina Flint, Robert Johansen and Christy Seiger-Webster, are deemed to be elected with terms to begin on January 1, 2025.</u>

Ryan Johnson, Deputy Election Clerk
White City Water Improvement District

## WHITE CITY WATER IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT RESOLUTION NO. 2024-09-001

A RESOLUTION, PURSUANT TO UTAH CODE SECTION 17B-1-306(5) AND SECTION 20A-1-206, CANCELLING THE DISTRICT'S NOVEMBER 5, 2024 ELECTION AND DETERMINING THE UNOPPOSED DECLARED CANDIDATES TO BE ELECTED TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR THE WHITE CITY WATER IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT.

WHEREAS, the White City Water Improvement District (hereafter "WCWID") is a special district under Utah Code Ann. § 1 7B-2a-401et., for the purpose of providing water service to its residents, and

WHEREAS, WCWID is governed by a five-member elected Board of Trustees, and WHEREAS, the members of the Board of Trustees serve alternating four year terms, and WHEREAS, the terms of three members of the Board of Trustees are set to expire at the end of 2024, and

WHEREAS, because of the expiration of terms, an election was called for November 5, 2024, pursuant to Utah Code Section 17B-1-306, to fill those three positions on the Board of Trustees, and

WHEREAS, only three qualified candidates filed declarations of candidacy to run for the three open positions on the Board of Trustees, said candidates being Paulina Flint, Robert Johansen and Christy Seiger-Webster, all current serving members on the Board of Trustees, and

WHEREAS, no other individual has given notice of intent to run as a write-in candidate, pursuant to Utah Code §20A-9-601, and

WHEREAS, there are no contested ballot propositions issues that need to be presented to the voters, and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Utah Code Sections17B-1-306(5) and 20A-1-206, a special district can choose to cancel an election where the number of declared candidates, including declared write-in candidates, do not exceed the number of open trustee positions subject to election, and may certify the unopposed declared candidates to be elected to the Board of Trustees, and

WHEREAS, a significant amount of money will be saved by WCWID by not holding a formal election as allowed by the Utah Code.

NOW THEREFORE, IT WAS HEREBY RESOLVED, APPROVED AND CERTIFIED, by the Board of Trustees of the White City Water Improvement District that:

- 1. The scheduled election for members of the Board of Trustees, set for November 5, 2024 (the "Election") is cancelled due to the aforementioned certified facts that only three declared qualified candidates are running for the three open positions on the Board of Trustees and there are no ballot propositions to be presented.
- 2. Effective January 1, 2025, the three unopposed candidates for the three open positions on the Board of Trustees, are hereby deemed to be elected to those positions, which unopposed candidates are: Paulina Flint, Robert Johansen and Christy Seiger-Webster.
- 3. District staff are instructed to take whatever action is required to give notice of the cancellation of the election pursuant to Utah Code Section 20A-1-206(7).

APPROVED this 18 day of September 2024.

Paulina F. Flint, Chair

Ryan Johnson, Deputy Election Clerk

